In a couple of posts on this blog and elsewhere, I briefly mentioned about the ten vital energies. Today, I am going to share with you the yogic aspect of such energy flow in your body. The ten vital energies control all voluntary and involuntary physical actions, reactions, and habits.

How can we control our life with control over the vital energies?

The vital energies, in turn, can be controlled by asana siddhi, mastery of the yogic posture, regulation of the breath, and concentrative meditation. The Sanskrit term is vāyu. It means fluid, subtle energy. It is a term frequently used to mean wind as well. The ten vital energies are divided into five primary and five secondary energies. Their functions are as follows:

  1. Prana vayu  — Vital life energy: This energy is the basis of your life. It is the vital life force in your breath, the subtle element in oxygen. Almost like fuel for your body. It has a direct impact on your state of mind, your emotions, moods and disposition.
  2. Apana vayu  — Descending energy: Urine, seminal fluids and defecation is controlled by the descending energy. It predominantly lives below your stomach. Mastery over this vayu can give you control over urination, bowel movements and ejaculation.
  3. Udana vayu  — Ascending energy: This energy lives in your throat and is responsible for producing voice. Thyroid glands can be controlled by the manipulation of ascending energy. Thyroid glands directly affect the growth of hormones.
  4. Samana vayu  — Thermal energy: This energy resides in your stomach. It is responsible for movement of food and digestion. Control of this energy can help you change your body heat at will. Channelized thermal energy will give you an amazing colon and exceptional metabolism.
  5. Vyana vayu  — Diffusive energy: This energy circulates through your whole body. It causes the blood to transport oxygen to all parts of the body. Manipulation of this energy can help you stay in one posture for as long as you want.

The five secondary vital energies are noted below:

  1. Naga: It controls belching, burping and all upwards wind movement from your stomach.
  2. Kurma: It controls sneezing and all abnormal wind movement in the sinusitis.
  3. Krkara: It controls the function of blinking of the eyes.
  4. Devadatta: Yawning can be completely controlled by manipulation of this vayu.
  5. Dhananjaya: Twitching in any part of the body is affected by this energy.

There are many yogic practices aimed at stilling the ten vital energies. Stillness of the ten energies infuses extraordinary calmness and will power in the practitioner. But most such yogic practices should be done under the supervision of a competent master. The practice of breath regulation, something I will touch upon when we get to Physical Transformation, channelizes the five primary energies and concentrative meditation stills the five secondary energies. You will experience inner peace and composure. You will find a lot more in control of yourself. You may also want to read about Yoga of Self Transformation.

Correct body posture is paramount to allow the free flow of these energies. I will elaborate on that in due course.

From the next post in the series, I shall begin an exposition on the four primary hurdles in the practice of meditation and ways to overcome them.




Art of Meditation

Free yourself from suffering and live life to the fullest. Learn the yogic technique of meditation in 4 days (and master it over a lifetime)

Learn More...

Now that we have addressed – what is prana energy and how can one feel it, in the above post. Here below is a guide answering some of the commonly asked questions on prana energy. How can one increase prana energy? What role does kundalini play on prana energy? Foods one needs to eat to harness the prana energy, how do I receive prana energy? How do I become aware of prana energy? – so and so forth.

The answers are in five parts: Awareness, Pillars on which your sadhana stands, Correct Posture, Sadhanas (practices) – meditation & kundalini, and, lastly the Yoga of Self-transformation.

How do I become aware of prana energy?

Patanjali, Vyasa and other sages, while propounding the path of meditation, listed nine states of awareness. In a way, these states represent spiritual evolution of an aspirant.

1. Intellectual Awareness
2. Investigative Awareness
3. Blissful Awareness
4. Self Awareness
5. Yoked Awareness
6. Cessative Awareness
7. Natural Awareness
8. Skillful Awareness
9. Supreme Awareness

To learn more about each of these states of awareness go here.

Four Pillars of Sadhana - The discipline needed to work on your prana energy

There are no quick fixes. Success in sadhana, practice, of self-transformation, is proportionate to the amount, quality, and consistency of efforts put in. Great persistence is rewarded by extraordinary rewards.

In aphorisms of Patanjali, he states that yoga is the practice of erasing your psychic imprints in Yōgaścittavrttinirōdhaḥ (Patanjali Yoga Sutras, 1.2) and he starts by saying atha yōgānuśāsanam (ibid, 1.1), “Now begins the discipline of yoga”. So, sādhāna is about adhering to the specified discipline; in a strict and careful manner till you attain your goal.

The yoga of self-transformation helps the practitioner to turn inward completely. Besides discipline, the success in the actual sadhana depends on four key aspects: sadhaka (aspirant), siddha (master), sadhya (goal) and sadhan (resources). The absence of any one of the four puts the whole practice on a shaky ground. Read more here.

Importance of correct posture in your sadhana to allow the free flow of prana energy

According to Patanjali, it is only after perfecting one’s posture that one advances on the path of Yoga. Mastering correct posture is one of the most difficult aspects of meditation.

A perfect posture is a must for meditation. Until you perfect your posture there is no hope in meditation – to learn more about posture watch this video.

There are eight aspects of a correct posture – to learn more about each of these aspects watch this video.

Furthermore, there is also a dedicated chapter on posture in the book – A Million Thoughts – You can read an excerpt from the book

Sadhanas: Different meditation practices one can practice in order to harness the five secondary vital prana energies:

1. The Practice of Concentrative Meditation
Intense practice of concentration stills the ten vital energies in your body helping you gain complete control in sitting still like a rock with ease. Concentrative meditation is the first step. Read more here.

2. Traṭaka — The Practice of Still Gaze
Trataka, or the practice of still gaze, is the art of perfecting and stilling your gaze. It’s a must for a serious meditator. Read more here.

3. How the practice of Kundalini can help one awaken their prana energy
Awakening of the kundalini is reaching your innermost state of bliss and joy. This state is covered with ten layers –desire, anger, greed, attachment, ego, passion, jealousy, hatred, fear and self-concern. As you elevate spiritually, you start shedding these layers. These avarana, layers, veil the true you.

Prana energy - the 10 vital energies

The real you that is beyond the duality of pain and grief, good and bad, moral and immoral. Awakening is a steady and gradual process on the path of kundalini sadhana. It is not an instant realization. It builds up, it grows on you. With each level of awakening, you discover bit more about the new you and you shed bit more of the old you. Read more here.

The Yoga of Self-transformation:

Almost like a book, these are series of posts that cover the following key topics as part of the core modules:

Prana energy, types of prana, 5 pranas, what does prana mean

a. The nature of mind
b. Why self transformation
c. The practice of self transformation

You can start here and then explore for related posts.