I would firstly want to apologize for writing this post very late, esp when there are many who were waiting for this post. Am sorry again. Reason is I lost my Fur younger brother Bunty, last Tuesday on Nov 9th at 9pm. He crossed the Rainbow bridge after having been with us for 16yrs.

Ayurveda series part 5 2

I know death is inevitable and he lived his life and it was time for him to leave. I accept that fact. But what hurt me the most and still hurting is the way he howled in pain and suffering for 40+ hours unable to leave the body. It broke my heart in to pieces. His struggle is still fresh in my mind.. The void that is now created can never be filled again and life wouldn’t be same again without him. 

So, I didn’t want to continue writing the series just for the sake of it. I wouldn’t be making the justice to it then. Hence I took time to cope with this heartbreak and am still going through it.

However, I shall now elaborate on next part of Ayurveda series, this one being part 5

Talking of Pitta- The Fire

  1. Which elements constitute Pitta?

Fire element and Water element, Satva and Rajas as their Gunas.

It is balancing and transformative in nature.

2. The guna/quality of pitta is

“Pittam sasnehatikshnosham laghu visram saram dravam”

Pitta is- sasneha- sa means “with” sneha means “unctuousness”- so pitta is  slimy

Tikshna- Very sharp

Ushnam- Hot

Laghu- light

Visram- has sour smell

Saram- movable/spreading 

Dravam- Liquid

3. What are the functions of pitta when it is in normalcy?

Digestion, maintaining the body temperature, Vision, Appetite, Thirst, liking for the food, complexion, understanding of concepts/thinking capacity, intelligence, bravery etc

4. Where does Pitta reside in our body?

The shloka says” NabhiramashayaH swedo lasika rudiram rasaH

Druk sparshanam cha pittasya, nabhiratra visheshataH”

Meaning- Pitta resides in Nabhi-umbilicus, Amashaya- Stomach, Swedo- sweat, Lasika- Serum, Rudiram- Heart/blood, Rasa- The nutrient

Druk- Eyes, Sparshanendriya- Skin, but vishesha/specific sthana/place of pitta is- Nabhi(Umbilicus)

5. As I mentioned earlier Pitta too has 5 types- They are as follows,






Next post I shall brief on these 5 types of pitta like I did for Vata types and shall explain about Pitta Characteristics. Thanks to all for waiting so patiently and encouraging me with your comments. I shall reply to all your comments on my previous post, shortly.






Pay Anything You Like

Manjula P Badiger

Avatar of manjula p badiger

Total Amount: $0.00