The Vedic period had many unique thought processes. An essential concept in that was the Ashrama system. Somewhere along the line, we have lost this lifestyle. Swami is an advocate of reviving this system. My husband and I have already been practicing this to the best of our abilities.

Applying the Ashrama lifestyle in modern society can make a world of difference to our community. Our relationship issues will diminish significantly. Further, it will promote spiritual progress and our harmony with nature.

Considering a life span of 100 years, we can divide our life into four. Please note that the ages mentioned below are generalizations. We can tweak it a bit like our life demands. As follows:

1. Brahmacharya or Student (Birth to 25)

As per the scriptures, Brahmacharya is a stage where one must strictly follow celibacy. This is a preparatory stage where we build our self-disciple. The habits formed at this stage can become a foundation for our lifelong success. Some key activities that modern-day youth can practice include:

  1. Studying well at school/college
  2. Learning self-care of body, mind, and spirit
  3. Working out routinely
  4. Playing sports or pursuing outdoor activities
  5. Practicing some art or literary skill
  6. Acquiring knowledge (both scriptural and worldly)
  7. Building social skills

2. Grihastha or Householder (26 to 50)

According to the Vedic way of life, this is the time for engaging in the materialistic world. If we can also gain some spiritual awareness, that’ll aid us in dealing with stress, mid-life crisis, and relationship issues. In the modern era, we can perform activities as follows:

  1. Becoming financially independent (even if you plan to renounce, this is important)
  2. Finding a partner (by dating, live-in, marriage, or whatever you think is right)
  3. Buying a home or making a space for yourself
  4. Starting a family
  5. Spending time with your kids
  6. Traveling the world
  7. Enjoying the luxuries of life

3. Vanaprastha or Retiree (51 to 75)

By this time, our kids might have entered the Grihastha phase of life. Therefore, the Vedic scriptures suggest that we pay more attention to our spiritual growth during these ages. It includes learning to become mentally detached from our children. Some activities that relate in this phase to the modern world are:

  1. Enjoying time with grandkids
  2. Being supportive of your children if they require it
  3. Catching up with relatives and friends
  4. Focusing on Bhakti or Worship
  5. Learning the scriptures
  6. Going on pilgrimages
  7. Starting to move away from the world

4. Sanyasa or Renunciate (76 to 100)

Children can keep an eye on their senior parents. They can provide their aged parents with comfort. In case of emergencies, the children are there to support them. However, the Vedic culture recommends that seniors of this age should be left alone.

Seniors in the Sanyasa stage must try to embrace solitude as much as possible. That promotes their spiritual elevation and helps them withdraw from the world. It will encourage them to escape the cycle of Samsara and prevent their rebirth. Here are some activities that are recommended for seniors:

  1. Completely withdrawing from the world, including your children
  2. Being in solitude and spending more time on meditative activities
  3. Reminiscing your life to let go of the past
  4. Pursing easy activities like reading or writing
  5. Eating in moderation and going to routine medical checkups
  6. Engaging in simple physical fitness activities
  7. Taking as much rest as the body needs


Incorporating the Ashrama way of life and living with awareness can build a better society. We can create a community full of peaceful and spiritually elevated people. There will be fewer family issues, and children can get the environment they need to thrive.

As Swami’s followers hope we can lead the way to follow and educate everyone about this Vedic way of life!


Pay Anything You Like

Sri Devi Om

Avatar of sri devi om

Total Amount: $0.00